Don’t be cheated out of what you earn
The law requires that most employers pay at least minimum wage (currently $7.25 per hour in Iowa and $9 per hour in Nebraska) for all hours worked.
Employees who are “nonexempt” from the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must be paid 1 and 1/2 times their regular wage overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek. Some managers and other professionals are “exempt” from these overtime regulations. Employers often miscategorize employees as “exempt,” resulting in the employer’s illegal failure to pay overtime compensation.
“Comp time” can be substituted for overtime only for employees of the government.
Iowa law requires that employees be paid on a regular basis (at least monthly) and in full. If your paycheck bounces and you incur overdrafts on your checking account as a result, your employer may be responsible for paying those charges. If your employer fails to pay you a regularly scheduled paycheck, your employer may also be responsible for paying a penalty.
It is a violation of the FLSA, overtime regulations, and other employment laws for your employer to retaliate against you because you make a complaint concerning overtime pay, minimum wage, or unauthorized deductions from your pay. Learn more about retaliation laws.